Books I Could Not Finish in 2014

I usually finish books, even when I’m not really enjoying a story. Writing is difficult, for me anyway and I have a lot of respect for authors, who can do something I wish I could. While I feel an obligation to pay authors the courtesy of reading the words they have slaved over though, sometimes I just can’t manage it.

2014 was a great year of reading. I’ve read some fantastic books and will do a Top Ten later in the week.

However, these are the books I did not finish during 2014.

Dubliners by James Joyce. This is the second time I’ve tried to read Dubliners and failed. It’s obviously my failure though, rather than James Joyce’s.

Monkey Grip by Helen Garner. I enjoyed the writing and the words, but the characters really annoyed me. I just couldn’t like them enough to keep reading. I didn’t need to finish this to take the lesson – don’t fall in love or get involved with drug addicts, you will regret it.

Started Early, Took My Dog by Kate Atkinson. The plot jumped around too much for me. I think the characters may be part of an ongoing series, I’ll look for the first book in the series and start at the beginning. My fault, not the author’s. I loved Life After Life by Kate Atkinson.

Fleece Navidad by Maggie Sefton. I got sucked in by the cover art, which said there were delicious recipes in the book. There were, (the rum balls were very nice) but there were too many characters who seemed surplus to requirements. This book is also part of a series, so it would probably make more sense if I went back to book one and got to know the characters properly.

Otherwise, a successful year of reading.

 

Comments Off on Books I Could Not Finish in 2014

Filed under Book Review

Comments are closed.