Heroes Are My Weakness by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

heroes

The title of Susan Elizabeth Phillips’s book, Heroes Are My Weakness, had me nodding in agreement. Mr Darcy, Rhett Butler, Westley in The Princess Bride, almost any of Georgette Heyer’s heroes, (although I have a particular weakness for Lord Damerel and the Duke of Avon – the bad boys), not to mention handsome men on the covers of Mills and Boon novels, are all weaknesses, (or guilty pleasures) of mine.

Why limit yourself to being side-tracked by heroes though? My other weaknesses include chocolate, reading too late at night, saving cut-outs of recipes that in reality I am never going to make and all sorts of other nice things, which are lovely weaknesses which people who live in glass houses probably say that they don’t do.

Anyway, back to the review. The heroine of Heroes Are My Weakness is Annie Hewitt, a broke puppeteer, (why am I not surprised she is poor? I’m reasonably sure the words ‘rich puppeteer’ are not often used in the same sentence). In order to keep her inheritance, a cottage on remote Peregrine Island off Maine which no one in their right mind would want anyway, Annie arrives on the island in the middle of a blizzard to spend an obligatory 60 days in the cottage.

The hero of this novel, Theo Harp, is a brooding writer of nasty crime novels. He was also Annie’s first love. Theo first appears in the story riding a big black horse in the snowstorm (shades of Mr Rochester?) Before too long Annie learns that Theo has been recently widowed (shades of Maxim de Winter?) Meanwhile, Theo takes every opportunity to be a jerk to Annie (shades of Mr Darcy?)

Be warned though, if, like me, you get embarrassed easily and hate technical details in sex scenes, then prepare to cringe. Seriously, do readers really want to know that Annie’s legs end up behind her ears? There are some things I would rather imagine (or not imagine) than be told!

The story was slow to get going, and the early gothic references seemed to be pushing the story in a particular direction. By about the middle of the book, though, the romance was underway, and all of the earlier gothic hints seemed to have been red herrings.

Heroes Are My Weakness was a comfortable, easy read, but I don’t think I’ll remember much about this book in a few weeks time. At any rate, I’m hoping I’ll have forgotten the bits that I don’t want to remember (fifty shades of blush).

 

Comments Off on Heroes Are My Weakness by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Filed under Author, Book Review, Phillips - Susan Elizabeth

Comments are closed.