I Amaving So Much Fun Here Without You by Courtney Maum

fun

 

I Am Having So Much Fun Without You by Courtney Maum wasn’t for me. I got bogged down because I didn’t like the narrator, a married artist called Richard who has just been dumped by his mistress. I shouldn’t have started reading this book, because I hate stories about married people who have affairs*, they just make me miserable. I didn’t like Richard, I didn’t like his morals, and his whinging and complaining stopped me from getting get past Chapter Five.

Miss S, who is fourteen, commented that the title of this book is unkind. Out of the mouths of babes…

*Except for The Bridges of Madison County which I enjoyed enormously, judging by the amount of tissues required for me to sob my way to the ending. I liked Anna Karenina too, although that ended badly for the heroine, as did Nantucket Nights. Similarly, Heading Out to Wonderful ended badly for the characters who had the affair. I haven’t read Madame Bovary or The English Patient yet, but they are also on my list.

I love the movie Same Place Next Year, which is the story of a couple who, although they are married to other people, meet for an adulterous weekend together every year, for years and years.

I think I have to retract what I said earlier. On reflection, I do like stories about people who have affairs. I think Richard just got up my nose. I wouldn’t have married him in the first place.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Author, Maum - Courtney

2 responses to “I Amaving So Much Fun Here Without You by Courtney Maum

  1. Hahaha! Brilliant review! Yeah, the whinging would bother me much more than the adultery…