Finders Keepers by Stephen King

finders.png

Finders Keepers by Stephen King is more of the same. More getting so caught up in the story that I read until way past my bedtime. More being tired and cross all the next day at work. More racing through my jobs when I get home so that I can get back to reading the story. More anxiety over a bunch of characters who I come to care about after just a few pages. I know I say this every time I read a Stephen King novel, but I don’t know how he manages this.

Finders Keepers should be read after Mr Mercedes, as many of the characters have already appeared in, or are in some way connected with characters who first appeared in Mr Mercedes. The stories are quite separate though and would stand alone if you really can’t wait to read them in order.

Finders Keepers starts with a young man, Morris Bellamy, breaking into the home of a reclusive author. This author wrote a trilogy of books which became American classics, and while the Morris’s friends intend to steal cash from the author, Morris is looking for the author’s manuscripts, in particular, unpublished works, in order to feed his obsession about the main character in the books. The author and Morris have a literary argument about the plot, which Morris thinks was a cop-out, and in a fit of rage he kills the author.

Morris finds the manuscripts he was hoping for and cash, then kills his accomplices too. He hides the manuscripts and cash in a safe place, then is caught for an unrelated crime and goes to jail for 35 years before he can read the unpublished stories.

Years later, a boy finds the manuscripts and cash. He uses the cash to help his family, who have been down on their luck since being caught up in a horrific incident which was at the centre of the plot for Mr Mercedes, and goes on to read the unpublished manuscripts.

Things get scary when Morris gets out of jail and comes looking for the manuscripts after having waited 35 years to find out what happens next.

I love that Stephen King gets how much writers and readers love stories.

Finders Keepers is mostly a straight story, with very few of this author’s usual supernatural-type elements. I have to admit that a huge shiver ran down my back sometime during the last chapter, and I can’t wait for more with the novel that I hope is to follow this. If Stephen King doesn’t publish the third story in what has been promoted as a trilogy, I hope a crazed fan breaks into his house, steals the relevant manuscripts and then publishes them so we all find out what happens next. Just so long as the crazed fan lets Stephen King live…

 

2 Comments

Filed under Author, Book Review, King - Stephen

2 responses to “Finders Keepers by Stephen King

  1. I don’t know if there’s any book that I’d have been willing to go to jail for 35 years for! But I may use this book as a threat the next time a favourite author does something I don’t like to one of my beloved characters… 😉

    • This is the second Stephen King book where a character has taken exception to a writer (fictional writer as a character) and gone to horrible lengths as a result. I expect Stephen King gets some weird letters from readers which would have set this plot in motion.