Book reviews

My Life in Books 2020

This year I’m doing Annabel from AnnaBookBel’s version of My Life in Books 2020. You can check on Annabel’s post out at the following link:

In high school I was: Juvenilia by Jane Austen. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/10/12/juvenilia-by-jane-austen/

People might be surprised by: Well-Behaved Women by Emily Paull. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/12/21/well-behaved-women-by-emily-paull/

I will never be: Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/02/10/far-from-the-madding-crowd-by-thomas-hardy/

My fantasy job is: An Unsuitable Job for a Woman by P.D. James. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/09/25/an-unsuitable-job-for-a-woman-by-p-d-james/

At the end of a long day I need: Hot Milk by Deborah Levy. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/04/06/hot-milk-by-deborah-levy/

I hate being: The Go-Between by L.P. Hartley. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/01/15/the-go-between-by-l-p-hartley/   

My family reunions are: Troubled Daughters, Twisted Wives edited by Sarah Weinman.

https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/09/18/troubled-daughters-twisted-wives-edited-by-sarah-weinman/

At a party you’d find me with: You or Someone Like You by Chandler Burr. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/03/09/you-or-someone-like-you-by-chandler-burr/

I’ve never been to: Bruny by Heather Rose. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/08/24/bruny-by-heather-rose/

A happy day includes: The Sea by John Banville. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/05/18/the-sea-by-john-banville/

Motto I live by: It’s Not All Downhill from Here by Terry McMillan. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/08/10/its-not-all-downhill-from-here-by-terry-mcmillan/

On my bucket list is: A Passage to India by E.M. Forster. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/06/22/a-passage-to-india-by-e-m-forster/

In my next life, I want to have: The Cure for Modern Life by Lisa Tucker. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/10/02/the-cure-for-modern-life-by-lisa-tucker/

My life in lockdown was like: The Shadow Year by Jeffrey Ford. https://rosereadsnovels.wordpress.com/2020/02/07/the-shadow-year-by-jeffrey-ford/

Wishing everyone happy reading during 2021.

Comments on: "My Life in Books 2020" (13)

  1. Woo hoo … these are great answers Rose though I’m sorry about the motto you live by!! I hope not.

  2. I noticed that neither you nor I have been to Bruny!
    My motto was the closest thing I could find to one amongst my titles, it actually isn’t very ‘me’ 😉

  3. No, it was hard for some wasn’t it? Still yours sounds like a motto even if not really yours. We should go to Bruny together!!!

  4. That sounds lovely! A visit to Bruny Island is on my wish list of places to visit too.

  5. Great answers! Haha, your family reunions sound like fun! Which are you? And if you find The Cure for Modern Life, could you please let me know?

  6. It will happen I guess … my brother lives in Tasmania so I should make it.

  7. Hmm, which one am I? Possibly both!
    As for The Cure for Modern Life, may I suggest The Time Machine?

  8. Go on, do it! A visit to your brother and to Bruny Island would do you good. You’re more likely to get there than I am, I think.

  9. Yes, I think there is a good chance I’ll get there, given my brother’s domicile. I’ll take one for the team! Agreed?

  10. 😂 Perfect choice! I’m in!

  11. Love this meme, Rose! I’m tempted but fear that my list might be very gloomy! Wishing you and yours a peaceful and healthy 2021 x

  12. Lovely to hear from you, Sandra 🙂 Wishing you and your family a happy and healthy 2021 too.
    BTW, FictionFan is planning an upcoming readalong/reviewalong if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tag Cloud

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: