Book reviews

While I’ve had mixed reactions to Joyce Carol Oates’ books in the past – I disliked We Were the Mulvaneys and Jack of Spades and liked Cardiff by the Sea, I loved The Falls and can now see what all the fuss is about this author.

The Falls began with a bridegroom throwing himself into Niagara Falls the day after his wedding, in 1950. The story of the wedding night was told from the point of view of the bride and of the groom and were similar enough in that they were both disgusted by and terrified of sex, at least with each other. Perhaps not surprisingly, Gilbert and Ariah’s versions of their wedding night experience also differed wildly.

For the next week, Ariah, who the media dubbed ‘the Widow Bride of the Falls,’ waited for Gilbert’s body to be found. Dirk Burnaby, a local businessman with a big heart stood vigil with Ariah, warding off the media and generally smoothing the way for the woman he had been instantly smitten by. Even Dirk couldn’t say why, as Ariah was plain, socially awkward and strange, notwithstanding the fact that her husband, whose name I had forgotten by about the twentieth page, had suicided after a single night with her.

Less than three weeks later Dirk turned up with flowers and champagne at Ariah’s home in Troy, New York and told her he was in love with her. Perhaps it was the champagne, but with Dirk, Ariah discovered sex and love, and despite the disapproval and condemnation of her parents and her first husband’s parents, she married Dirk and went to live with him in his luxurious townhouse at Niagara Falls.

Ariah and Dirk built a life together, and later when they had children, reconciled with her parents.

The ‘honeymoon’ section of the story was dreamlike, but the story and the emotions it generated eventually changed direction again. Dirk was a lawyer with a great many social and business contacts but when he took on a case to fight big businesses responsible for polluting a neighbourhood where an unusual amount of residents had cancer, he was ostracized socially and professionally. I felt terribly unsettled while reading this middle part of the story, but was still surprised when it ended with a murder.

The story and the character’s lives then dramatically changed again.

I loved the constant changes in this story and the twists and turns in the character’s lives. I loved Dirk, although was also frustrated by him being so good and idealistic that he risked his whole life for his cause. I also felt very attached to Ariah, even though she was far too prickly to love. She was the most frustrating, annoying, neurotic, yet fascinating character I’ve come across in a long time. The Burnaby’s children, when it was their turn to tell the story during the 1970s, were much more likeable than their mother but just as interesting.

The location was also fabulous (who doesn’t want to visit Niagara Falls?) and the writing itself was excellent.

I couldn’t put this book down, but it was so big that I read it for a solid week – luckily for me there was a long weekend during that week. I’ll probably wait a while before reading something else by Joyce Carol Oates, but I will read more eventually.

Comments on: "The Falls by Joyce Carol Oates" (9)

  1. I either have something on the shelf by this author or I read something by her in my pre-blogging days. (I’m thinking it’s the former) I admire your perseverance that you’ve given her multiple chances! If the two duds came first, I’m not sure I would have tried another!

    • I persevered because someone I knew years ago told me she adored Joyce Carol Oates. I knew there must be something there, but with this book I’ve finally found it.

  2. Yes, Oates can be a bit of a hit or miss. This does sound good, though.

  3. I’ve been wanting to read Joyce Carol Oates since I watched Smooth Talk and realised it was based on one of her short stories. I still haven’t read the short story, but may be I should add this to my classics list as well? Sounds brilliant.

    • I loved the description and intrigue of the location and the evocative writing, far more than I expected to.
      Sounds like I should watch Smooth Talk. I’ve just watched the trailer and see it was filmed in 1985, which is a great recommendation for someone who was a teenager in the 80s. I’ll watch out for the short story collection, too.

  4. I’ve only read Jack of Spades and didn’t like it at all, so I’ve never tried her again. However, your reaction to this after also not getting on with Jack of Spades makes this strangely tempting…

    • I didn’t expect to like The Falls, let alone love it. I don’t know if it was the glamour of the location, or the writing, but whatever it was, the author got this one exactly right for me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tag Cloud