Book reviews

The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman is the first book in a series featuring four retired characters who get together to solve unsolved murders.

Elizabeth is the leader of the pack and her mysterious past points towards her having been a spy, Ibrahim is a retired psychologist whose main contribution is research, Ron, a former union leader who bulldozes his way through the group’s investigations and a newcomer to the group, Joyce, was a nurse before she retired. Joyce’s diary entries were used to narrate some of the story, which began with the owner of the retirement village where they lived being murdered.

Elizabeth’s gang also leaned heavily on local police officers with whom they shared information (begrudgingly, at least on the part of PC Donna De Freitas) as the police and the gang investigated the murder. Later in the story, other murders occurred or were uncovered, complicating the investigations being carried out by both parties.

The story is a real page-turner. I enjoyed it enormously and sat up far too late reading. The solution to the murders was quite convoluted though, and I had to re-read the last section the next day to try and figure out how the various murders and solutions fitted together. Not sure if this was because I was too tired to take anything in so late at night during the first read.

My only other complaint was that there was a cast of thousands, some of whom didn’t need to be in the story. I genuinely enjoyed getting to know the main characters, though and thought the story itself was fun.

I will probably read the next book in this series eventually.

Comments on: "The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman" (14)

  1. I really enjoyed this when our bookclub read it. I think all of us did, though it might not have sounded like it when we discussed it. (we have a way of picking apart the books we read!) I’ll agree it got complicated, and that’s one reason I often will not finish a mystery/crime story late at night. I usually need a fresher mind to understand the wrap-up. Even now, though, I can’t remember who did what! 

    I currently have the second book on hold at the library, so hopefully I’ll get it in the next month or so. They’re clearly popular books. 

    • I was still slightly confused after I read the ending for a second time, but in fairness I might have missed clues during my first read as I was tired.
      This would have been a fun book to discuss. Did everyone in your book group enjoy it?

      • It was a pretty popular pick for our group. I can’t remember anyone totally disliking it (which happens!).

        • I imagine there are plenty of books that divide the group’s opinions! The conversations must be terrific. But in this case, not to at least be entertained by the book would have surprised me.

  2. I considered picking this one up a few weeks ago, as I’ve become quite enamored with cozy murder mysteries. Your review convinced me to add it to my TBR. I’m always so impressed by those that manage to figure it all out because I’m not one of those people.

  3. I’ve had this one on my shelf for quite some time. I really need to actually pick it up one of these days!!

  4. I was given this a couple of years ago and just can’t bring myself to read it; the only reason because I don’t like the type of game shows Osman hosts. I’m missing out, I’ve read a few great reviews, one day . . .

    • I had the advantage of never having heard of the author, although the blurb did say he was a television show host.
      I read a novel by Graham Norton, whose show I have watched, and could hear his voice in his writing.
      I suppose the difference might be, is it his hosting style or the type of show that you dislike? There is a game show host on television here who I don’t watch as his sense of humour is unkind. The contestants know what they are in for, but I always think if I was in their place my feelings would be hurt!

  5. This one sounds so tempting and I really must get around to reading it sometime. Do you know Richard Osman over there as a comedian? He’s a regular on panel shows over here, and he’s always fun.

    • The characters were so quirky and entertaining that I’m not surprised to learn the author is a comedian. The blurb on the cover only said he was a television personality.

  6. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I love this series so much. To be honest, I found the plot a bit disjointed in the first book, but the characters made up for it. The plot improves over the next instalments. The third book is my favourite so far. Will you continue with the series?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tag Cloud